Site icon Docs of Cannabis

Everything to Know About Getting a Medical Marijuana Card Online!

medicalmarijuanacard

exc-5e8f32427d52bb50c92a9683

Did you know that medical marijuana is now legal in 33 states? All you need is a medical marijuana card to pick up cannabis at your nearest dispensary. If you don’t feel like trekking down to the store, you may choose to have it delivered to your doorstep.

If you don’t already have one of these cards, obtaining one is an easy process. Ready to learn how? Then grab a drink, get cozy, and read on.

Your Marijuana Patient License

Your medical marijuana card (MMC) is what shop owners use to identify you as a licensed marijuana patient. It shows that you can legally use, buy, and grow cannabis products in your state.

The card itself looks like a student ID card from your local college. It contains your photo, name, date of birth, address, and patient license number.

How Long Does My Medical Marijuana Card Last?

Your patient license, and therefore your card, are valid for 2 years for a normal license. Some states also offer short-term licenses which last 60 days from the date of issuance. Your state government and physicians have the power to revoke your license if they deem it necessary.

Get Your Physician’s Recommendation

Applying for your card varies from state to state, though the process is similar.

All states require a physician’s recommendation. Some states say speaking with doctors over the phone is fine, while others require you to do it in person. Unfortunately, if speaking with doctors isn’t your thing, it’s one of the criteria you can’t circumvent.

In California, for instance, you can get a card online so long as you have a quick 5-minute phone consult with a doctor. They won’t be collecting medical records or anything like that. They just take a quick look at your allergies and ask about your present condition.

Other states, like Oklahoma, require you to have a face-to-face with your doctor. You may use your primary care provider or a doctor at one of the agencies that promote medical marijuana. Once again, these are quick, simple visits.

Are you wondering, “Do I qualify?” If so, medical marijuana doctors commonly approve cards for the following conditions:

How Do I Apply for the Card?

Your application for your MMC can be done online or through a local marijuana-card turnkey solution. If you do it online, you must make sure you have your doctor’s recommendation on hand. You’ll also need the information listed in the section below.

If you choose a turnkey solution, you won’t need a doctor’s recommendation. When you show up for your scheduled appointment, you’ll see a doctor onsite. Afterward, the staff will help you fill out the rest of your MMC application paperwork and send it in for you.

We recommend you double-check the current medical marijuana laws in your area. Researching state laws only takes a few minutes, and it ensures you don’t miss a step. Remember, every state varies slightly.

What Information Do I Need for the Application?

When you fill out your application online or at your turnkey solution, you’ll need the following:

You’ll also need the physical documents listed in the following section.

What Documentation Do I Need for the Application?

You’ll need the following valid, unexpired documentation:

Proof of Residency

Proof of Identity

Other documents

Keep in mind that your physician recommendation form must be dated within 30 days of your application submission. Also, your insurance information may include your Medicaid enrollment documentation. It may also include Medicare, a letter from the VA, or another federal agency listing you as 100% disabled.

How Much Does It Cost?

Your insurance company can tell you the cost of your doctor’s fee. If you don’t have insurance, or you aren’t visiting your primary care physician, most MMC consultations run in the $50 – $150 range.

If you’re visiting a turnkey solution, your doctor and consult fees are combined. They typically run in the $100 – $200 range.

In addition, you’ll have to pay a fee for the MMC state application. Those also vary from state to state, but usually, run in the $50 – $100 range for a standard application.

Let’s take Oklahoma for example.

The standard application fee is $100. If you provide proof of Medicaid or Medicare as a %100 disabled veteran, you’ll only need to pay $20. You can pay by Visa, Master Card, Discover, or debit card.

What Happens After I Apply?

When you submit your application, it must be approved by your state. If it’s complete and meets the requirements, you’ll receive your MMC within 14 days. If it’s incomplete or missing information, you’ll receive an email stating the reasons it’s incomplete.

In most states, you can log back into your account and make corrections. Then you resubmit your application. You’ll have to wait another 14 days from the date you resubmit.

If your application is denied, you’ll receive a denial letter within 14 days of your submission.

What’s Next?

Now that you know how easy it is to obtain your medical marijuana card, you can get started. Begin by calling your doctor or scheduling an appointment online with a turnkey solution.

Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, Docs Of Cannabis will NOT be seeing patients in our physical office. We know that using cannabis as a medication is important and we WILL be able to see patients via Remote Telemedicine. You simply need a smartphone or tablet or a computer set up with audio and video capabilities. We will be in touch before your appointment to walk you through the technical stuff, so don’t worry.

We look forward to speaking with you soon!

Exit mobile version