As of May 1st, more than 282,500 patients are licensed to buy, grow, and use medical marijuana in the state of Oklahoma. Meanwhile, nearly 20,000 more patients are awaiting approval from the state.

With medical marijuana generating $10 million in state taxes, Oklahoma’s program is one of the largest in the nation.

If you’re curious about getting licensed in Oklahoma, you’re probably wondering how to go about it. That’s why we’re bringing you this guide to marijuana laws and licensing in Oklahoma.

Medical marijuana doctors OKC are making it easier than ever for local patients to get their license. So, what are you waiting for? Check out this guide to medical cannabis laws in Oklahoma and find out how to get your license today!

A Brief History of Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Rules

Oklahoma cannabis regulations are changing fast, especially when it comes to medical marijuana. If you aren’t up to date, keep reading to discover the history of medical cannabis laws in Oklahoma and Oklahoma City (OKC).

OK Legalizes Medical Marijuana

On June 26th, 2018, medical marijuana was legalized in Oklahoma. The state started accepting applications for medical licenses only a few months later.

This allowed licensed medical cannabis patients to legally possess, grow, and purchase cannabis from state-licensed businesses.

Today, the program boasts 7,000 licensed businesses that can legally sell medical marijuana to more than 200,000 registered patients.

OKC Decriminalizes Marijuana Possession

On September 24th, 2018, the OKC city council reduced the legal penalties for possession of cannabis. The maximum fine for possession was $1,200 and up to six months of jail time.

Now, possessing marijuana will only incur a $400 fine. Keep in mind that this only applies to non-medical marijuana patients. Patients with a medical license are exempt from possession fines.

HB 3228

HB 3228 is a medical marijuana reform law that was amended and passed in 2020. This law further relaxed Oklahoma medical marijuana to include out-of-state patients.

Out-of-state patients can get a temporary Oklahoma medical cannabis license. The law also made it legal for medical marijuana businesses to deliver medicine to patients who live within a 10-mile radius.

Further, the entire state of Oklahoma adopted the similarly relaxed regulations OKC put in place in 2018. First-time offenders of Oklahoma’s marijuana possession laws would no longer see jail time and the fine was reduced.

Again, patients with a medical license are already exempt from possession fines in the state of Oklahoma.

Future Directions

As the medical marijuana program continues to expand, lawmakers are concerned about intoxicated drivers. They’re considering marijuana breathalyzers to help drivers feel safer.

Keep an eye out for updates on this law.

How to Apply for a Medical License in Oklahoma

Adults, minors, and even some out-of-state patients can obtain a license for medical marijuana in Oklahoma. However, the process and the exact documents you’ll need will depend on your circumstances.

Here, we’ll go over the requirements you can expect when going through the licensing process.

For Adult Patients

Adult patients in Oklahoma can apply for a medical marijuana license online.

First, you’ll need a recommendation form from a physician. Access the application online, fill out the patient information, and give it to your physician. Your physician will fill out his or her information before signing the form.

Once the form is signed, you have to submit your online application within 30 days.

You’ll need a digital photo that clearly shows the patient’s face, proof of identity and residency, and $100 application fee. If you plan to pay for your medicine with Medicare or Medicaid, you’ll also need your insurance card and an additional $20 fee.

For Minor Patients

Minors in Oklahoma are legally allowed to use medical marijuana with a valid state-approved license.

The process to obtain a minor’s license is virtually the same as the process for adults. One difference is that the minor patient or their legal representative must sign an additional authorization form. This will allow the disclosure of their patient information.

Further, when minor patients turn 18, their license will expire in 30 days. Upon expiration, the patient must obtain a new physician’s recommendation, a recent photo, valid identification, and proof of Oklahoma residency.

For Temporary Patients

Out-of-state medical marijuana patients can access a temporary Oklahoma medical cannabis license.

For adults, you’ll need your out-of-state medical marijuana card. You’ll need additional information like your full name, residence and mailing address, date of birth, phone number, and email address.

You’ll need all of your information about your medical marijuana license. Also, you’ll need to submit your application within 30 days of adding your signature.

Minor patients will need their out-of-state medical marijuana card and proof of identity. If the minor is too young to have a driver’s license, a birth certificate will suffice.

Both the minor and their parent or guardian will also need to submit the following information:

  • Full name, residence and mailing address, date of birth, phone number, and email address (where applicable)

  • Proof of identity

  • A clear full-face photo

Legal guardians will need to show proof of guardianship. They will also need to sign the application and submit it within 30 days of signature.

For adult and minor temporary patients, the patient or their legal representative will also need to sign an authorization form. This will allow your physician access to your medical marijuana records in the state of Oklahoma.

Online Medical Marijuana Doctors OKC

Getting your medical marijuana license in Oklahoma doesn’t have to be a headache. Yet, finding the right physician often is.

That’s why you need Docs of Cannabis.

Looking for online medical marijuana doctors OKC? Docs of Cannabis has online medical marijuana services for your licensing needs. Meet our doctors today and get on the path toward your medical cannabis license!